All you need to know about the 2023 Darts Premier League

Published on 2 February 2023 at 17:00

Night 1 of the Darts Premier League is now only a few hours away and after the recent controversy the selection of players has now been decided. With the likes of Humphries, Cullen and Cross missing out there are new arrivals this year. Here is this years Darts Premier league line up.



       Michael Smith         

Peter Wright

           Michael van Gerwen           

Jonny Clayton

       Dimitri Van Den Bergh       

   Gerwyn Price 

Nathan Aspinall

Chris Dobey


The main cause of controversy this year is down to the selection of the World No.11 Dimitri Van Den Bergh. The Belgian hasn't had an awful year however in comparison to fellow competitors it is difficult to see why he has been chosen over others. Firstly he hasn't won a major this year moreover he hasn't managed to reach a major final over the course of the 2022 season, so to many this may seem a very obscure pick.

However it is common knowledge that the Premier League hasn't always been chosen on ability, personality has also been a huge factor in selection as its important to keep everyone entertained - some may say that was a huge reason in Rob Cross not being picked last year after winning the European Championship.


Read more articles here:World Champion Smith reigns supreme in Leeds - Night 13 Premier League Darts Review


In an interview Pre World Championship Mark Webster referred to this in an interview with 'online darts'
“There’s more to it Barry [Hearn] has spoken about it, you’ve got to entertain as well. But Rob Cross is just a dart player"

The decision to reintroduce Van den Bergh to the Premier League after a year out is more of a choice out of personality in my opinion as there players with a higher ranking or a more successful year than him - those pre-match dance moves may have been the deciding factor.

At first glance the choice of Chris Dobey may be seen as a rogue shout also, however following the pattern over the last couple of years Jonny Clayton and Joe Cullen both making it into the Premier League after a win in the final of The Masters it seemed that they proceeded to follow suit and award the winner a place.


Night 1 kicks off in Belfast with the first match expected to be at 19:10 and will be shown on Sky Sports.

Here are the Quarter Final fixtures:

Dimitri Van den Bergh v Jonny Clayton

Michael Smith v Michael van Gerwen

Peter Wright v Chris Dobey

Nathan Aspinall v Gerwyn Price


Michael Van Gerwen is the current favourite of Week 1 with odds of 5/2 on Bet 365


Written by Harry Lucas

Add comment


There are no comments yet.